Electoral structure review - Mornington Peninsula Shire Council - Response Submission Antonella Celi - McCrae - 13 November 2023, 07:50 pm

Dear

- The Honourable Frank Vincent AO KC (Chairperson)
- Ms Liz Williams PSM
- Electoral Commissioner Mr Sven Bluemmel

My name is Cr Antonella Celi and I have been an elected Councillor to the Shire for over 13 years. I came in on 11 single Cr wards - Truemans Ward (Capel Sound/Tootgarook) in 2010 and elected to the Seawinds multi-Cr wards in 2012-current.

My main submission is about how very concerned I am with the way that the Seawinds ward and southern Peninsula wards have been divided in all options.

All options divide the township of Rosebud at Jetty Road, the freeway, Boneo Road and Eastbourne Road which is where the concentration of the community of interests are found within Rosebud and McCrae.

Rosebud including Jetty Rd must remain intact within any of the ward structures proposed as it forms a vital component in the Rosebud Activity Structure Plan study area. (see attachment).

I do not agree that the community of interest and the townships of Rosebud and McCrae should be separated into different wards causing fragmentation of the existing geographic township boundaries.

Rosebud and McCrae should remain together in one ward and continue to take in Pt Nepean Road, inclusive of Browns Road and Boneo Road and Waterfall Gully Road, Arthurs Seat Rd.

This is where the Rosebud and McCrae townships and community of interest reside. This new ward should continue to be named Seawinds Ward.

I would suggest that Capel Sound, Tootgarook and Fingal share a community of interest and their ward boundary could also be taken from back of west of Truemans Road and be inclusive of Limestone Rd, Sandy Road.

Also, pre-multi-Cr structure, Dromana and Safety Beach historically have been in the same ward. Previously named Kangerong Ward in 2005. Dromana and Safety Beach share community of interests.

The existing number of 11 Crs should be retained. With an area of 720sqkms to cover, it would be appropriate to retain 11 Crs because we have diversity within our community of interests and a very active and engaged community with Council.

With the provision of over 100+ services to our community spanning all ages from cradle to grave, 11 Councillors will encourage a diversity of candidates to run and be elected to represent their ward and our municipality.

A reduction in the number could prove a disservice to the population of our community because we are dispersed across a large geographical area that takes in three main activity centres Rosebud, Hastings and Mornington and the parochial 40 townships in between.

Familiar names to our community for electoral wards should also be retained such as Seawinds, Truemans, Balcombe, Briars, Nepean, Red Hill, as they have an historical significance to our community.

But I am also keen for the consideration for OGN registered Aboriginal names for wards, in particular for the Westernport side where names already exist such as Waringine, Moorooduc.

Thank you for your consideration to the above submission.

Kind regards Cr Antonella Celi





Rosebuu Study Area



