Electoral structure review - Campaspe Shire Council - Preliminary Submission Kyabram Deakin Ratepayers Residents and Development Group Inc. - Kyabram - 16 February 2023, 02:30 pm

From:
Sent:
To:
Subject:

Thursday, 16 February 2023 2:30 PM Campaspe ERAP Submissions 2023 Local council electoral structure review - CAMPASPE SHIRE

CAUTION: This email originated from outside of the organisation. Do not click links or open attachments unless you recognise the sender and know the content is safe.

KYABRAM DEAKIN RATEPAYERS RESIDENTS AND DEVELOPMENT GROUP INC. (KDRRADG) All correspondence to President Mrs. Mary Bowman KYABRAM VIC. 3620

Phone

Electoral Representation Panel c/o Victorian Electoral Commission Level 11, 530 Collins Street MELBOURNE VIC. 3000

Local council electoral structure review – CAMPASPE SHIRE

Campaspe Shire Council currently has five wards and a total of nine councillors.

The formation of Campaspe Shire by amalgamation hasn't delivered on the promised benefits.

Echuca has the administration centre, the smallest area to manage and the largest number of voters and other commercial advantages.

Exercising our democratic rights as to which of the limited options will result in the least disadvantage throughout the shire has been very difficult.

We are recommending to the advisory panel that Campaspe Shire has NINE COUNCILLORS to cater for the diverse local issues in each local area.

That Campaspe Shire be divided into THREE WARDS.

With THREE COUNCILLORS in each ward.

And that the wards be named.

EAST WARD (Kyabram-Deakin)

NORTHERN WARD (Echuca)

WESTERN WARD (Western Ward including Echuca West)

Mary Bowman President Kyabram Deakin Ratepayers Residents and Development Group Inc.

February 16 2023