## Electoral structure review - Surf Coast Shire Council - Preliminary Submission Elizabeth Stapleton - Aireys Inlet - 22 February 2023, 11:53 am

As portrayed in the Surf Coast Shire 'Economic Development Strategy 2021-31', the Surf Coast Shire is comprised of three distinct sub-economies - Torquay, the Coast and the Hinterland. Not only do these three areas have different economic profiles, they are also comprised of distinctive and unique townships, communities and environments, and as a result have very different needs, challenges and areas of focus.

Therefore, I believe that a multi-ward, multi-councillor structure would be most effective, and best serve the communities of the Surf Coast. Either 3 or 4 wards with 3 councillors in each provides the best opportunity to ensure the unique communities of interest throughout the Shire are adequately represented through their local council. A logical break up of wards could be Coastal (including townships along the Great Ocean Road - Anglesea, Aireys Inlet, Lorne and surrounds), Hinterland (Deans Marsh, Winchelsea, Moriac and surrounds) and Torquay (depending on population distribution, this could be divided into two wards).

With the significant growth and urbanisation of Torquay, the needs of this community are vastly different to those along the coast, and again to those within the hinterland region. Bringing together representatives from each of these wards would provide Council with a diverse mix of insights and experience from different communities of interest, to ensure the overall needs of the Shire can be most effectively considered and managed.

Thank you for your consideration.

Kind regards, Libby Stapleton