Electoral structure review - Campaspe Shire Council - Preliminary Submission Sandra BROWN - Kyabram - 02 February 2023, 03:34 pm

My preference is for the Campaspe Shire Council to have three wards of similar population size, with each ward having three councillors, making a total of nine councillors for the shire.

This is to ensure that the smaller towns in the shire have equal representation on council, and that the needs and interests of the smaller communities are not overlooked by a council that focusses on the issues of the dominant town (ie: Echuca).

My three ward suggestions are ...

Echuca Ward (pop. 11,073)

Kyabram-Deakin Ward (pop. 9,957)

A third ward formed by combining the three existing small-population wards of Rochester (3,258), Waranga (3,246) and Western Ward (3,399). Total population of this combined ward would then be 9,903.

Come minor adjustments to boundaries may be necessary to ensure ward populations comply with the allowable 10% population variation.